"Applying Computer Settings" taking a long time

Started by DebAmstutz, August 05, 2010, 09:11:38 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

DebAmstutz

I just want some opinions, as our own tech guy is supposed to be handling this.  If we turn a workstation off (and this may happen on reboots, too) and then turn it back on, after we log into the network, the "applying computer settings" is taking at least 5 minutes and more for people other than myself.  Someone else emailed our tech about it and he said "It is the virus software. It is usually 2-3 minutes."  He said that over 5 minutes is excessive and that he's made changes.  I turned my workstation off this morning and back on and it took at least 5 minutes.  I'm thinking virus software shouldn't even take the 2-3 minutes, but I'm no expert, that's for sure.  Anyway...for you who handle this kind of thing all of the time, would you have any suggestions I could make to the tech guy?  Not that I'm sure he'll pay any attention...lol.

Thank you!
Deb Amstutz
Back in the TAM saddle again

Bloody Jack Kidd

AV may not be the culprit - which antivirus do you use?

The "Applying Computer Settings" part of login covers many things - lots of cogs are turning in the background.  One common offender is DNS, could also be Group Policy Objects being loaded etc.

Setting up more verbose User Environment logging is a common response to troubleshooting these kinds of problems - but is not something for the faint of heart.

http://support.microsoft.com/kb/221833

You could enable it - grab the log file - post it here for analysis - and disable the verbose logging, it's not something you want to leave on.
Sysadmin - Parallel42

DebAmstutz