Fujitsu Scanner Question S1300

Started by Judy Means, April 25, 2011, 05:38:30 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Judy Means

I'm looking to get a scanner for home.  I've been looking closely at this one:

http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B003990GMQ/ref=s9_simh_gw_p23_d17_i1?pf_rd_m=ATVPDKIKX0DER&pf_rd_s=center-4&pf_rd_r=0WFNFQ5R75B61FB7YW1Z&pf_rd_t=101&pf_rd_p=470939031&pf_rd_i=507846

Does anyone have any experience with this one?  Is there any reason why I would absolutely have to have a scanner with the twain driver like they recommend in TAM?  This Fujitsu does not have the twain driver. 

TIA

Judy
Judy Means
West Texas Insurance Exchange, Inc.
Odessa, Texas
TAM8.5 and other goodies

Jeff Zylstra

I have no experience with this scanner, but makes some nice scanners.  And no, you don't really need the TWAIN interface.  TWAIN is a standard by which software makers can interface directly with the hardware.  It is the go between piece that is used by TAM's "attach" dialogue to call the scanner software after you've input all of the customer, policy and other details of that particular attachment.
"We hang the petty thieves, and appoint the great ones to public office"  -  Aesop

Jim Jensen

To elaborate a little on Jeff's comments about TWAIN. If you want to use the barcode scanning in TAM, using Applied's workflow, then you need a TWAIN-compliant scanner. If you don't need the barcode scanning, you don't need TWAIN. You can still utilize the barcode scanning without TWAIN, but it takes an extra step. You need to scan the items in with the barcdes, then save the file (I'm sure as a TIFF), then import into TAM's bardcode processor to attach them using the barcodes.
Jim Jensen
CIC, CEO, CIO, COO, CFO, Producer, CSR, Claims Handler, janitor....whatever else.
Jensen Ford Insurance
Indianapolis

Judy Means